案例研究

见招拆招,IA应对套路买方

by IA group

IA接受委托的案件中,发现两个熟悉又陌生的关联案件。这两个案件涉及三个不同的国际贸易商,在进口了大量货物后分别拖欠两家出口商货款。

在对涉案公司进行背景调查后,IA顾问团队联系到了位于墨西哥的进口商。随着勘查和沟通的深入,IA发现新委托案件中的进口商曾经也参与过几年前IA受理勘查的贸易。

IA顾问团队首先安排了与进口商的会谈,但在会上,进口商公司所有人却侃侃而谈讲起了自己与艺术市场的交往,暗示其贿赂IA顾问的意图。此后的会谈中,其仍然反复提及其贿赂意图。IA顾问团队均接受过严格的反商业贿赂培训,并受公司反商业贿赂规定的约束。IA顾问随即严正回绝了该进口商,并告知其上述做法将影响其国际声誉,且将在IA留下相应记录。

进口商意识到其计划落空后,转而采取了更加激进的策略来回避付款。其首先质疑IA律师和顾问的代理权限,同时乐观地表示由于IA不掌握任何不利于进口商的信息,不可能针对其提起诉讼。而事实上,IA对历年收悉的案件全部逐案建立了电子档案,内部数据库亦早已完善。通过内部检索,IA轻松调取进口商的历史欠款记录。

在接下来的会面中,IA顾问团队向进口商展示了IA已掌握的、关于该进口商的部分信息。如此前预期,进口商面对IA掌握的历史信息十分警觉且反应紧张。以此为基础,IA步步紧追,敦促进口商签署了可提交法院执行的还款计划。

经过IA团队不懈努力,本案欠款最终成功收回。

Case Studies

The attempted bribery

by IA group

A client handed us two files involving three different international traders from multiple countries, failing to pay each of these two exporters a large sum owed for shipments of received consumer goods.

After conducting initial research to know who we were dealing with, IA’s investigation team contacted the buyers. Foreign nationals residing in Mexico. During our investigation, our team found that the buyers were behind several other transactions that were part of another group of cases assigned to IA years earlier.

Having made an appointment with the debtor company, the owners tried to impress IA’s legal team with stories about their friendships with artists, demonstrating that they were well connected. Already on the first occasion, but also repeatedly after that, the owners attempted to bribe IA’s team members. They did not realize that IA’s employees are trained in handling bribery situations, which unfortunately occur in some parts of the world. As IA enforces a strict policy of registering bribery attempts, it was made clear to the debtor that every attempt would fail and that debtor risked being blacklisted internationally.

When the owners realized that they would not successfully bribe IA’s team members, they proceeded to take an even more offensive approach. They challenged IA’s lawyers by stating that there was no adverse information about them and their company and that it would be impossible to file a lawsuit against them. Thanks to our well-maintained archives, we were able to demonstrate that some of our clients had dealt with them several years before. There was no shortage of information about their questionable practices in our internal database.

In a face-to-face meeting, IA’s legal team showed the owners part of our information on them. Just as we planned, the debtors got scared because they did not realize that our team would find any information about them. After further negotiations, we made the debtors sign an enforceable repayment plan that IA could use later if the debtors decided not to pay.

Fortunately, and thanks to our efforts as a team, the collection process proceeded smoothly.